Bucket List

Ok. Here is another post about a movie.

Well, not exactly about the movie but more or less inspired by the movie. I hope you guys by now have seen the ‘Bucket List‘. Now whats fascinating for me about this movie is the reviews that it has been drawing. There is one half of my friends who will swear by the movie and another half who will not touch it with a barge pole. Now, the half that doesnt like the movie claims its disappointing cause there is no anticipation. The movie’s plot is pretty much evident from the title and it sticks to it without any twists or turns or even a surprise ending. The half that loved it, loved it cause it lived up to its name. So you see, there isn’t much to choose. You gotta see it and decide which category you wanna fall in to. Oh, I fell into the ‘Loved the movie’ category. Actually, I don’t hate many movies. I always try to see something good in it so that I can justify the 2 odd hours I spent watching it. I’m very terminally optimistic that way. Just wish I could look at people the way I looked at movies.

Hmmmm, coming back to the ‘Bucket List’. Well, I loved the characters and I loved the plot and what I loved more was the choice of actors. They couldn’t have chosen better. Jack Nicholson is at his weird, rude eccentric best and Morgan Freeman is at the heights of restrained acting. Oh, and is it just me or do all of you think that he has got the ‘perfectest’ voice ever? I mean if God had a voice, dont you think it would be Morgan Freeman’s voice. So calm and soothing yet so powerful. I wonder how he is in bed. Do you think his woman gets multiple orgasms just by listening to his sweet talk? (Eeeew..no, lets not go down that lane, old men in bed is not something I like to dwell upon). Speaking of Gods, isnt it funny how we never pictured God as a black man until ‘Bruce Almighty’ came along? And that got me thinking. I mean, we all think of God or the picture that we have of God in our minds is of a man (yes, I’ve said it before and I say it again, I can’t think of God as woman. Sorry, but I can’t. My God is a man.) with very familiar features. I mean, my God has Indian features cause being an Indian I’m automatically tuned to think like that (This has more so to do with Muslims cause there are no pictures of our God,so its all in the mind). So, I was wondering whether a Chinese pictures God with chinky eyes or if a Spaniard pictures God with thick eyebrows and an olive skin. Just a thought!

Anyways, fresh from the movie and highly inspired by it, I decided to make my own bucket list. Things I would like to do before I, well, kick the bucket. So here goes:

  • Travel to Italy – Ive always wanted to since I was a kid. Though I have to admit that earlier my desire to visit Italy was largely because of my cravings for authentic pizzas and pastas. Yes, I do realise that it would be much cheaper to go to the Italian restaurant next door but as a kid you mind doesn’t think like that. You want good pizza you go to Italy. But now, yes, pastas and pizzas still figure in the equation, but the reason I wanna go there is because of this picture of romance associated with the place (or in other words, Yummy Italian men πŸ˜› ) and also because I think these Italians are master marketers. Only they can take an old badly built tower and turn into this wonder. Really, I have tons of buildings in the nieghbourhood which have a bigger degree of tilt than the Tower of Pisa, but do you see anyone visiting it? See, I told you, these Italians are the master marketers of the world.
  • Meet Johnny Depp/John Travolta – I am not being too ambitious. I will settle for either. Travolta my first crush, the man who made me feel weak in the knee for the first time. The man who made me realise that perhaps boys ain’t so bad after all. I was 12 when I saw ‘Grease’ for the first time and life has never been the same since. You have a special place in my heart. Johnny Depp, for making me fall in love with a freak, ‘Edward Scissorhands’. I am not gonna say any further.
  • Turn into a fitness freak – and inturn achieve the perfect hourglass figure. I don’t like the new flat look, hourglass, thats what we should strive for.
  • Read as many holy books as possible – With so much hue and cry over religion, I’d really like to know where we all differ so much that we humans have ceased being humans and have become mere representatives of religions. I’d like to read as many religious scriptures as possible. Really!
  • Sex on the beach – Not the drink silly. I wanna make out on the beach. I haven’t yet decided if I want a private beach somewhere or if wanna do it on a regular beach. I cant seem to decide but the bigger problem here is how to lure my man into being a part of my list. Oh, and while we are beaches, I wanna reaffirm our vows, on a beach, for our 50th wedding anniversary. But I want the sex much before that.
  • Attend my kids’ wedding – Well, I don’t have any kids yet and I don’t think I will be having any for a while but eventually when I have them, I wanna be with them all the way. I don’t wanna die and leave in between. I wanna stay for their weddings.
  • Become a Cowgirl – Oh yes, I intend to buy a ranch in Texas some day. (Psst: becoming an old cow and becoming a cowgirl are two different things, in case you were wondering)

PS: This is not the end of my list. But I just noticed that this post is becoming way too long. So, I’m gonna stop my rant now, temporarily. I shall resume. Stay tunes for Bucket list 2, coming soon to the WordPress near you. πŸ˜‰

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://terminalrant.wordpress.com/2008/06/05/bucket-list/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice new layout, lady. I am with you on three and five. πŸ™‚ BTW, the link to post a comment is way too tiny, I had to look real close and I almost missed it.

  2. quite a list o things u wanna do before u kick da bucket [:p]

    and a naughty one i must say [:P]

    some things i’d wanna do are:-
    learn an instrument, mebbe an electric guitar or drums, and play on stage as part of a heavy metal band

    have lotsa sex :P..with one partner though

    bungee jump

    watch my first kids birth

    get married to the one i love πŸ™‚

  3. quite a list of things u wanna do before u kick the bucket..and quite a naughty list i mus say [:P]

    heres my list of to-do’s

    1.learn an instrument, preferably an electric guitar or drums, and play live on stage as part of a reallllyy popular hard rock band

    2.marry the one i love

    3.bungee jump

    4.watch my first kid’s birth

    5.have lotsa passionate sex, albeit with just one gal πŸ˜›

  4. Well Well Well … Titty ,all is fine except for the 3rd one, u have to worry about sand particles, i don’t think u will quiet enjoy the nitty gritty feeling of sand .. ahem everywhere. It can cause friction which is mostly attributed to the angular shape of the sand particle.

    info : http://www.msnucleus.org/membership/html/k-6/rc/rocks/4/rcr4_5a.html

    P.S some of the shapes are really scary


Leave a Reply

